Neighbourhood

Just now i listened to Wawa’s story about her neighbourhood. They always make gotong-royong for hari raya Aidilfitri celebration and also for other festivals. Their neighbourhood spirit (semangat kejiranan) is really strong but there were also people who didn’t even bother to lend energy in order to succeed those kenduri but is so nosy talking about neighbourhood. Aah.. i guess i won’t understand a thing about rukun tetangga back in my home country because I do not consider myself having a single neighbour.

Next to our house is a carwash workshop owned by an Indian family and at the back there are Indonesian fellow houses owned by my relative. The Indian family sometimes keep an eye on our house while we are away for holiday but not all the time. For us, that’s good enough. While the Indonesians were so busy working that I don’t get to know them very well. To tell you the truth, i even afraid to come near their house unless accompanied by someone. Because they are, indeed foreigners.There are only two Indonesian that I know whom pretty honest with their work and hospitability in Malaysia. One of them is a tailor and the other one is a businessman. The other Indonesian that they brought are not really friendly and trustful. There are times that they’ll bring women back home. I dare not to consult who they are, though.

My neighbours are somewhat different from what others defined neighbour is and totally different from what other neighbours do because they are of different culture, and sense of purpose. They don’t do kenduri, and they do not meddle into people affairs. that is why I do not consider myself as having neighbours at all. To me, they are still strangers. Ah well, the Indian could be a little bit neighbour-like but I guess it’s because the Nationality that brought us together.

Living in New Zealand gave me a little bit experience of what neighbours are. It is a good and warm feeling that I never had back at home. I am truly grateful of that.

~ by littlehobbit on August 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
